My Hobgoblins

 

As I mentioned on my recent podcast

I have a slight issue with the depiction of Hobgoblins as samurai, which , while cool, and based a little on the images of the battle masks found in some kits,4892447-historic-samurai-armor-on-black

There is something a little racist about that, and there is also a cool European tradition of scale armor worn by raidersmedieval-lamellar-stainless-steel-armor-body-suit.jpg

Vikings, and other warriors of northern and northeastern Europe had some really cool looking armor. I think the blank looking mail mask and pointy helmet combo evokes something menacing, like these psychos from Frostgrave.frostgrave-cultists

There is nothing that says “Bad Guys” who need to get murdered by your Adventurers like a good pointy mask.cultists0001.png

 

While in Northport, Hobgoblins are a player character option, and most of their tribe is involved in the hemp and rope making trades, as well as in the local jugga league, I am going to be running a sequel adventure to Beneath the Fallen Tower.

The hobgoblins in this scenario are pretty much the AD&D ones, as I am dealing with a table of mostly non-GURPS players, I wanted some simplified tropes. The women of this tribe, which has claimed ownership of an abandoned silver mine, are pretty tough as well, although they wear a lot of embroidered clothing that is more central European than the kimonos that would go with samurai style hobgoblins ala Sutherland.

The adventure will feature a heist, betrayal, fire breathing lizards, hobgoblins and enslaved goblins.

 

Like my work? Support my Patreon

Like my Art? I am running a 40% off sale on my book at lulu.com

product_thumbnail (1).jpeg

 

 

One thought on “My Hobgoblins

  1. Pingback: GURPSDay Summary January 25, 2019 – Jan 31, 2019 - Gaming Ballistic

Leave a comment