While I wait for the Kickstarter to finish…

20170406_150619

I have a few weeks before I can really get cracking on the work for Blueholme Journeymanne . The preliminary  sketch above, for a Gem of Seeing, might not end up going in, but I will be doing about 8 pieces. I loaded a stack of Lovecraftian art to my Patreon, effectively both of the bundles I just added to my store.

Seriously, it is cheaper to be my patron than to buy my stuff.

So I have returned to working on Beneath The Fallen Tower, my low level DF/S&W venture. I finished off some conversions of creatures found, but I need to do a little more. One of the creatures is a wight, and as those who play in my game know, these are pretty lethal. I build them from the template in GURPS Fantasy, and add Unkillable I with Vulnerability to Silver. (And susceptibility to magic weapons). I have applied this template to gargoyles, and to Giant Maned Rats from DF10. The group trying to clear a basement full of these had to go see their employer about getting silvered weapons, and strangely, despite the animosity between two players, one refused the offer of a functional but somewhat cursed sword (causes bloodlust and acts like an addiction for the user) that she could have dumped on the somewhat unpleasant player.

Another group, also without magic weapons, found themselves facing a wight who happened to have a magic weapon, and while they couldn’t kill it, its fragile:brittle nature let them sever the arm holding the magic sword and use it to kill it. I rule that in these cases, HT damage needs to be done with the object of vulnerability, and I have them start regenerating 1 pt per day if reduced to -5HT with other attacks. This means a reoccurrence in about three months…

A similar problem came up with a flaming skull. The hireling mage, a Seasoned Apprentice, had a lot of generalist spells including Mass Sleep, of which the party was appreciative, but had no attacks scaled for diffuse. The party was getting hit for more than they could dish out, although the magic sword helped. The mage ended up dropping its attack with Extinguish Fire, which would not have worked if it was a simple 3e Skull Spirit. The description said flaming, so I let her quench it, and the group beat it down.

This particular group was on a hexcrawl chasing a map to find the whereabouts odf a missing military pay train which had caused soldiers to mutiny and the kingdom to lose the war and be overrun with orcs. Along the way, while trying to discourage some bandits who fell in with them from following them to their goal, the party bard spun a tale of a lich with a silver crown set with tourmalines who marched with an undead army, and said they were heading to his grave, which successfully dissuaded the bandits.

Unfortunately,  the legend was true, and the place the missing silver was stashed is he lair of a lich. So far they have been dealing with minions, but it is going to get ugly soon.

2 thoughts on “While I wait for the Kickstarter to finish…

  1. “The group trying to clear a basement full of these had to go see their employer about getting silvered weapons, and strangely, despite the animosity between two players, one refused the offer of a functional but somewhat cursed sword (causes bloodlust and acts like an addiction for the user) that she could have dumped on the somewhat unpleasant player.”

    I really hope you mean PC not player here. Otherwise you totally need to sort that out.

    • There was animosity between the players because of in-character behavior, the character of one went on the weapons run, and even though it would have suitably inconvenienced the character of the other player, she did not saddle him with the cursed weapon.

Leave a Reply

